What is Document Approval on PEPFAR SharePoint?
While PEPFAR SharePoint encourages users to collaborate and share documents, it also enables Powerusers to make decisions about which content to keep private within the team, and which content can be shared with the larger PEPFAR SharePoint community.
Pending is the default status of a document immediately when it is created and uploaded to PEPFAR SharePoint. Any member of your site can access and make modifications to a document while it is in Pending status. Each time someone modifies the document and uploads it, a new Minor version is created, for example, v0.2. For documents that are intended to be kept private within a team, the item should remain in Pending status.
If a Member-Approver or Poweruser of a page decide that a document should be shared across broader PEPFAR SharePoint community, they can choose to approve it and give the document an Approved status. Once the document is Approved, all PEPFAR SharePoint site members as well as visitors will be able to see the document in the document list and download it.
This chart summarizes which types of users have the ability to see documents at the various approval statuses:
Viewing Document Status
In any document library on PEPFAR SharePoint, you can always tell the current status of a document by scrolling to the far right and looking in the "Approval Status" column, as pictured in the below screenshot:
Approving/Rejecting a Document (Member-Approvers and Powerusers only)
Check the box to the left of the document name. This will illuminate the Files and Library ribbons. Under the Files ribbon, click on the "Approve/Reject" button:
The Approve/Reject pop-up will appear. Select the "Approved" radio button if you wish to approve the document. This will give the document an Approved status and it will now be visible to all users in the PEPFAR SharePoint community.
If you do not wish to make this document public to the entire community, you can keep the document at the Pending status and select the "Pending" radio button. Alternatively, you can choose the "Rejected" radio button. This will mean that only the document creator and those who can see draft items (i.e. Members, Member-Approvers, and Powerusers of the site) will be able to view it.